TeamUp alternative

A TeamUp alternative whose price does not grow with clients

If your TeamUp bill grows with active customers and you do not need online booking, an alternative is cronowiz Studio: a desktop program for €199 once, with no member limit and the data on the studio’s computer. If clients and instructors work from the app and payments go through the system, TeamUp remains the better fit.

By Updated

Windows and Linux · €199 once, no subscription

Gym overview in cronowiz Studio: active members, today's classes, subscriptions and medical certificates to follow up, with phone numbers alongside

TeamUp is web-based management software with apps for members and staff. Pricing is monthly and depends on active customers: on the official page the 101–200 active customer band starts at $189 a month, and a custom branded app costs another $99 a month. There are no setup fees and no long-term contracts. The feature list is broad: memberships, appointments, waivers, online booking, courses, online and in-person payments, POS, gift cards, reports, email and SMS, family accounts and lead management.

cronowiz Studio is a program for Windows 10/11 and 64-bit Linux that runs members, medical certificates, memberships, the schedule and reports from the front desk. It costs €199 once, valid forever for the major version you buy, with all its updates, and it does not count customers: members and athletes are unlimited. After purchase it works offline, without an account, with the data in a file on the computer.

Where the two models differ most is growth. With a price tied to active customers, the more the studio grows, the more you pay. With a one-time licence the cost stays where it is, but the features that involve clients directly are left out.

Side by side

Criterioncronowiz StudioTeamUp
Model Desktop program, one-time licenceWeb-based system with apps
Price €199 onceMonthly by active customers; from $189/month for 101–200
Branded app No$99/month extra
Contract NoneNo long-term contract, no setup fee
Where data lives A file on the studio’s computerNot stated (web service)
Works offline Yes, after purchaseNot stated; no offline mode documented
Online booking NoYes
Payments and POS NoYes, online and in person
Email and SMS NoYes
Multiple locations NoYes, unlimited locations

Information about other products checked on their websites on 2026-10-07. Prices and features may change.

  • Price does not follow headcount

    €199 once, with 50 members or 500. No bands to move up through.

  • A studio schedule

    recurring classes by room and instructor, capacity, waiting list, no-shows, one-off appointments and clash detection.

  • Expiries under control

    each day, the list of who has expired or expires today, this week or within 30 days, with phone numbers.

  • Works with the line down

    data sits in a file on the studio’s computer, with full backup and exact restore.

Fee per active customer or one-time licence

TeamUp ties the price to how many active customers you have. It is a fair model, since a small studio pays less than a big one, and without long contracts you can leave when you like. But the bill comes every month, and each band you cross raises it.

Studio is paid once. The licence is tied to one computer, can be transferred up to 3 times and covers the whole major version purchased with its updates; the next major version is sold separately and the one you have will keep working. The flip side is that Studio is not an online service: no client bookings, no web version.

When TeamUp is the better choice

TeamUp fits better if clients book and pay on their own, if instructors check the schedule on their phones, if you sell gift cards or products, if you use digital waivers or family accounts, if you send email and SMS from the system, or if you run several locations. Studio does none of these.

It is also the simpler choice if you often work away from the studio and want to open the system from any device.

What Studio has that TeamUp does not focus on

Studio tracks competitive and non-competitive medical certificates with their expiry dates, a common requirement for gyms in Italy and elsewhere. It has an at-risk list: members attending fewer classes, training less, inactive for at least 14 days or expiring without renewal.

It also has an athlete side: it imports backups from the free cronowiz app and .fit files and computes fitness, fatigue and form on the Banister model, readiness from HRV, zones and VO2max, 1RM and tonnage. A member linked to an athlete brings their workouts into the reports.

Your gym in one program. Your data in your gym.

Windows and Linux · €199 once, no subscription

The questions people usually ask

How much does TeamUp cost?

Pricing is monthly by active customers: the official page shows from $189 a month for 101–200 active customers, plus $99 a month for a branded app. Smaller bands were not visible when we checked.

Does Studio limit the number of members?

No. Members and athletes are unlimited and the price stays at €199 once.

Can instructors see the schedule on their phones?

No. The schedule is viewed on the computer where Studio is installed. There is no instructor or client app and no web version.

Can I record no-shows?

Yes. No-shows are marked per class, and the monthly report counts them alongside bookings.

Can I get a refund if I change my mind?

The perpetual licence is activated immediately at the buyer’s request, so there is no withdrawal for a change of mind. The legal guarantee of conformity still applies. Terms are at cronowiz.com/licenze/termini.